Day 22

Fell asleep after midnight last night, woke up around 8am. I had heart palpations again, hmmm? But overall I slept good.  Last night my friend Neil said I would probably be sore today from the driving range, he was right! (haha) 

Got up so I could get some food in the crockpot and wanted to get the day started. Put chicken in one crockpot so I could have chicken salad this week with my homemade mayo and put short ribs in the other with dates and pears. 

9am – had (3) scrambled eggs, sweet potatoes (these are golden potatoes as they didn’t have he sweet potatoes at the store, not the same but they’ll make do), had (3) pieces of bacon (yum!) and some strawberries. It was a great breakfast!! 

10am – went to Weir Hill, my new favorite nature trail and went on a 2.5 mile hike in the woods. I really enjoy being outdoors and in nature, it’s food for the soul. 

Stopped at Starbucks on the way home and got an iced tea.  I have to say I’m a little disappointed with Starbucks, all of their flavored teas are “fake”. They all sounded so good (peach, mango, etc) but I skipped it and had just a black iced tea to avoid the extra sugars. Definitely makes you think, damn people put sugar in EVERYTHING! 

I made a batch of black iced tea when I got home to have some on hand when I needed a break from just water, water can get boring sometimes. 

Once I got home and got to some meal prepping.  Roasted my potatoes and broccoli. Cut up all my raw veggies. Made my chicken salad. While I did this I snacked on my cauliflower hummus, it’s such a great snack! 

1pm – sat down and had some lunch. Ate the rest of my leftovers from the chicken fajitas win avacado and had a seltzer. 

330pm – had some of the iced tea I made with a Granny Smith Apple and cashew butter as I made my dream catcher!!  

 
Today I watched (2) documentaries “cowspiracy” and “forks over knives” – really got me thinking about our food we put in our mouths and the environment.  I am a meat eater but it further instilled that the food you eat really makes you either healthy or unhealthy.  My favorite quote from both documentaries was, “eat to live don’t live to eat!”

7:30pm – it was worth the wait, butternut squash soup. I made it with ground pork and roasted cashews. It was on point!  Even my roommate loved it!  Recipe in Julie Bauers new cookbook. Telling you people, you need this cookbook. It’s amaze-balls!!! 

  
This long weekend was great. I didn’t go to any cookouts, I didn’t drink any alcohol but it was everything I wanted (and needed). When I’m on the Whole30 I need to keep myself busy and I did just that. I enjoy doing the Whole30 in the Fall, it’s my 3rd time doing it during this time of the year. It’s a great way to end the summer and a great way to kick off the autumn season!

Until tomorrow … xo

Leave a Reply

