Day 1

Today is Day 1 …

It’s not a routine Monday for me.  I was able to get an extra hour of sleep this morning as I am working from home until its time to go get my MRI.  I can’t eat or drink anything (even water!) so its an interesting morning.  I have to be at my appointment an hour before to drink some liquids and then they will inject some dye into my system so it will be outline my stomach.

Survived the MRI.  They said its the hardest one, of your bowel, because of the process.  I had to drink 900 mL of some drink (not as vile as the colonoscopy prep drink, that’s for sure).  At every 450 mL I had to take a 15 minute walk for it to be absorbed into my system.  The MRI lasted about 45 minutes.  I had to hold my breath A LOT, they hooked me up to an IV that injected me with dye that would outline my bowel and then gave me a shot to help slow down my intestines from moving so they could get a better scan.

After my appointment (now remind you I hadn’t eaten since dinner last night) they told me to be careful eating anything within the next 1 hour as my body recovered.  I came home and waited an hour and then heated up some lunch.  It was leftovers from last night “Pistachio Pesto Chicken Pasta” from paleomg.com.  It was delicious.  I highly recommend it.  I enjoyed it with a Red Grapefruit Seltzer Water.  http://paleomg.com/pistachio-pesto-chicken-pasta/

For dinner I was at my sisters and we made Taco Salad (all Whole30 approved).  I’m a fan of tacos (taco shell, sour cream and cheese) but I skipped it for some salad instead.  It hit the spot.

Today I also made a ginger apple shredded pork today in the crock pot.  Again, from paleomg.com.  The recipe called for honey, so I skipped that since its not approved.  I’ll probably eat it for dinner tomorrow and roast some potatoes and broccoli with it as well.   http://paleomg.com/honey-ginger-apple-shredded-pork/

It was a strange Day 1 since I was so off my routine but very excited to start feeling better real soon.

Until tomorrow …

Leave a Reply

