Day 4 (new recipe!)

9/11/01 Never Forget

Slept good last night but my joints still giving me trouble …

6:20am – For breakfast I had 2 scrambled eggs with spinach and mushrooms with water and I took my SFH fish oil

Traffic was a beast on my way to work.  Took my 2+ hours to get to work, its really testing my patience lately.

9:15am – When I got to work I was hungry!  I had 2 hard boiled eggs with handful of nuts and I wasn’t quite full so I had a few more handfuls of nuts and a water.

12:15pm – For lunch I had my leftover spaghetti squash and meat sauce with a seltzer.  After lunch my stomach really hurt???  But it went away after a bit

4:15pm – I had an apple … not that filling but its all I had.  I need to for next week plan a better afternoon snack as I need more food before I get home.

6:30pm – Luckily I had prepared my dinner early this morning and cooked it in my brand new crockpot.  It really is set it and forget it.  I cooked it on low for 6 hours and then it automatically switches to warm when its done cooking – GENIUS!!  And I need it since I am out of my house for 10-12 hours a day.  Today’s dinner is brought to you by “the Paleo Slow Cooker” cookbook.  It was chicken breasts stuffed with sun-dried tomatoes.  I accompanied it with mashed sweet potatoes and raw vegetables.  I didn’t need a knife, it just shredded.  My first thought when I took a bite was, hmmm … you know when you are so looking forward to something and you play it up in your head and then it just doesn’t exceed your expectations?  Well this was like that, by 1/2 way through I was enjoying it more but I think I expected so much more out of it.  I would make it again though.

Here is the recipe:

INGREDIENTS:

1 tbsp GHEE

1/2 onion, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, crushed

3 lbs skinless chicken breasts

1 (8 oz) jar sun-dried tomatoes

1/2 cup chicken broth

2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp dried basil

Salt and pepper just before serving

COOKING INSTRUCTIONS:

1. In a heavy-bottomed pan over medium heat, melt the ghee and saute the onion and garlic until onion is translucent, about 5 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, cut a big pocket in each chicken breast.

3. Spoon the onion and garlic into each pocket and follow with 2-3 dried tomatoes.  Carefully transfer stuffed breasts into the slow cooker.

4. Add the broth and sprinkle the herbs over the top

5. Cook on low 4-6 hours

6. Salt and pepper to taste, then serve.

IMG_2655 IMG_2656

On to day 5 bitches!

Leave a Reply

