Day 1 of Whole30

Welcome to Day 1 of the Whole30!

I had my old roomie from FL in town this weekend with her 3 year old son.  We had a blast!!!  I woke up this morning not as prepared for the Whole30 as I have in the past, aka my fridge was pretty empty.  I started this morning off with a coffee (black of course) at 8:45am.  I’ve been drinking my coffee black for almost 2 years so I didn’t have to worry about giving up milk/cream or sugar.

9:20am – luckily my roommate Vanessa had eggs and she was kind enough to give to me so I could have some protein.  I had 3 scrambled eggs with a handful of macadamia nuts and a water.

Since my friend was in town we decided to head to Minute Man National Historical Park in Concord, MA to hike the trail.  It was a beautiful day and we enjoyed the scenery.

1:20pm – After our hike we headed into downtown Lexington for some lunch.  I was really hungry at this point and was a little worried that I wouldn’t be able to find too much I could eat.  Luckily V noticed a great all natural restaurant called Nourish Restaurant.  It is all locally sourced ingredients and grass-fed meats.  Our waitress was very accommodating, I ordered their “California Burger” and modified it a little – i had a grass-fed burger with avocado, tomato and lettuce.  I usually would have ketchup but since there is sugar in that I skipped it.  I did order their sweet potato fries although the oil they were cooked in I am sure wasn’t exactly Whole30 approved so I only had a few.  I had 2 soda waters with lemons as my drink.  My friend had a Sam’s Oktoberfest and it did look really good but it wasn’t hard to pass up (I mean it is only day 1).

After a fun filled afternoon in Concord and Lexington, my friend headed off to the airport and I headed to the grocery store to stock up.  Since most of my grocery shopping on a weekly basis is pretty much Whole30 approved the grocery store wasn’t hard.  I had already planned out all of my meals for the week and made a list so I was prepared.IMG_2637

I got back to the house and started Phase 1 of cooking.  I roasted (4) sweet potatoes to have on hand for the week, I roasted asparagus, made a dozen hard boiled eggs, cut up peppers and cucumbers and then made a ground turkey with zucchini, summer squash, onion and tomato paste.  I decided to cook an extra meal today so I would have something in the fridge in case I got home late or ran out of time during the week.

IMG_2638

7:15pm – Phase 2 of my cooking was my dinner for tonight.  I was really excited to make some meatballs, but let’s just say I’m not a meatball kind-of-making girl.  Instead it turned into a meat sauce 🙂  I roasted a spaghetti squash.  Man how I forgot how much I love me some spaghetti squash.  I enjoyed dinner with a seltzer.

IMG_2641

Hope you all had a great day ONE (CF603) and now onto Day 2!

Leave a Reply

