Paleo Lasagna

Well, hello … its been awhile, but thought this recipe needed to be shared.

I’ve been done with the Whole30 for 2 weeks and still feeling great.  I’ve added beer back in to my weekend ritual, but its now a conscious choice I make as by the 2nd beer I have a headache and I get stomach pains.  It still tastes good but instead of drinking it on the regular I only indulge every once in awhile.

I had a cinnamon sugar donut (actually 3) and those hurt my stomach so bad that I through the rest out that I had.  French fries didn’t go too well either.  Other than that though I’ve done really well with staying Whole30 compliant during the week and only going off the charts on the weekends occasionally.  I feel so good on it, my sleep and energy is so much better that every time I make a choice not to stay compliant I don’t always feel like its worth it.

Keep up the good work for those who are doing the Challenge.  I will check in from time to time and of course will always share any recipes that are worth sharing.

This one is a must – enjoy 🙂

Paleo Lasagna!!

1 lb. ground beef or turkey

1 14oz can diced tomatoes (I used 2 cans)

1 onion diced

4-5 cloves garlic chopped

1/2 bell pepper diced

1 14oz. Can tomato sauce (no salt added)

3 large zucchini, sliced lengthwise and very thinly like lasagna noodles

 

Preheat oven to 350.

In a sautée pan, heat 2-3 tbs. extra virgin olive oil.  Add diced onion, garlic and pepper and cook until tender. Add beef. Season with salt and pepper and any Italian seasoning blends you like. Add tomato sauce and cool until done. Pour enough of the diced tomato blend to cover your 9×11 baking dish. Layer zucchini in a single layer over tomatoes. Pour half of the beef mixture over the zucchini. Layer press some of the diced tomato blend over the meat. Layer with another single layer of zucchini. Pour the remaining meat mixture over the zucchini and add a bit more of the diced tomato blend. Cover with remaining zucchini and drizzle with remaining tomatoes. Sprinkle a bit of almond meal and bake for about 25-30 minutes until heated through and bubbly!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

