Day 24

Got 9 hours of sleep last night.  Slept pretty good.  My body was still not liking me so I did toss and turn a bit.

Last night I signed up for a 2 week challenge.  The challenge is that you need to do 30 air (body) squats before each meal, everyday for 2 weeks.  So when I got up before jumping in the shower I did 30 to start the day.  I calculated that if I eat 3 meals a day everyday for 2 weeks in the end I will have done 1,260.

7:45AM
This morning I made 2 poached eggs (a nice change up from just my scramble eggs).  I heated up some of the zucchini/sweet potato latkes, had 2 pieces of bacon, some fruit (strawberries, raspberries and blackberries) and water.

8:15AM
Enjoyed a cup of coffee before starting my day 🙂

12:15PM
I was really hungry when lunch rolled around.  I was so hungry I forgot to do my 30 squats before eating so I did them after.  I had my leftover shrimp and roasted cauliflower with a seltzer, it hit the spot.

I recently got Showtime (Verizon was running a special) and I am currently hooked on their series Homeland.  I’m actually addicted.  I’ve been watching an episode at lunch every day – definitely makes my lunch time more enjoyable.  I’m only 2 episodes away from the end of the 1st season.  Luckily the new season starts in 2 weeks or I might start having withdrawals.  Next I’m going to start getting caught up on Dexter 🙂

3:45PM
30 more squats!  I was hungry and I knew I wouldn’t be able to wait until I was on my way to the gym, so I had a banana with some almond butter.

5:45PM
I forgot to make hardboiled eggs for my ride to the gym (boo!).  So I had a shake.

6:30PM
Today’s WOD

Strength/skill – shoulder press, 15:00m to find 3RM (I got 60 lbs)

Met-Con – 5 Rounds of:
1:00m box jumps
:30s rest
1:00 row
:30s rest

Score is total number of box jumps and total meters rowed, (x/y) = 52 (box jumps) / 1129 (meters rowed)

7:30PM
Had my recovery shake on my way home.

8:15PM
Did my 30 squats before dinner.  That’s a total 120 for today 🙂
I had my leftovers from dinner last night.  Was just as good as last night!!

I felt like I was dragging all day and my body felt tight.  But after a great WOD my body felt well stretched 🙂

On to day 25….

Food for Thought
During this Whole30 experience I haven’t reflected on the changes/differences I have experienced so as I near the end I thought I would take a moment to reflect.  First, if you’ve been following my blog – thanks!  Second, if you’ve been following this and haven’t read “It Starts with Food” you need to read it.  That’s all I ask, what you do after that is up to you but its a MUST READ (I mean it is on the NY Times best selling health book so it must be making some sort of impact).  Also, I want to reiterate that this challenge was not a diet (I don’t believe in diets).  This was just that a challenge and was also a way of life; on how to change my life/health by simply changing the food on my plate.

Okay, now back to the changes.  I’ve had some ups and downs during this experience but they’ve all been very eye opening.  I’ve never really looked at myself and thought I looked amazing or thought I was in the best of shape (even when I was working out with a personal trainer).  I knew that my eating habits weren’t “great” but I also knew that in the past 3 years I had made a lot of changes and that I was doing the best that I could to be healthy.  I figured I was now in my 30’s and this is just how I was suppose to feel.  Well, let me say its never too late to make a CHANGE!!!  I seriously think that if I had removed all the mirrors in my house during this experience I would still feel the way I do without seeing my reflection.  I feel lighter, my head feels clearer, my waist and face feel less bloated.  I have confidence!  I feel strong!  I feel capable of anything!  Its a weird experience, that by changing the food on my plate I really did change my LIFE.  I feel more calm, less stress (huge accomplishment)!  Its very EMPOWERING!  I feel awesome, well make that WICKED awesome!  Thank you Whole30 for changing my perception on food and on myself.  Now I’m not going to sit here and say I’m never going to drink again, or I’m not going to eat that cupcake but I know that my choices and my indulgences will probably be different when I have the option to choose the food that makes me less healthy vs. the food that fuels me to be my better self.  And I feel safe knowing that if I fall too far from this “healthy” feeling it will only take me 30 days to get back on track 🙂

4 thoughts on “Day 24

  1. I have been following your blog and I am very interested in the challenge. You have done such an awesome job! You are such an inspiration and I look forward to getting my hoody back actually better than before after this fourth baby! Congrats to you for doing this !

  2. Thanks Erica – I appreciate it 🙂 It’s been an amazing experience. It’s definitely been challenging but in the end I think it’s all been worth it and I feel so great!!! Congrats on baby 4!!! And you should read the book, its very eye-opening 🙂

  3. I’m so stinkin proud of you girl! We all see a change in you, not just look wise, your entire spirit is lifted and it makes me so happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

