Day 21

Woke up at 7AM this morning.  Got 8 hours of sleep.  Didn’t sleep amazing but okay.  Had my leg spasm again before falling asleep.  It isn’t low potassium (I added bananas into my meals this week), its only the leg where my hip is giving me problems and only when I lie down … hmmm

7:40AM
On my way to CrossFit today I had 2 hard boiled eggs.

8:15AM
Since I was up early I got to the gym early.  Rowed 2,200 meters (currently at 11,000 for the month).  I then spent the next 30 minutes rolling and stretching my hip.

9:00AM
KB Class (this was a good one)

50 KB Swings
Run
120 Single Jump Ropes
Run
30 KB Squats
Run
20 Push-ups
Run
10 Wall ball subs
Run

Then: 21-15-9
Squat Jumps
Hand-2-Hand KB

My time – 15:55

10:00AM
Had my recovery shake.  Some peeps from the box were heading to breakfast so I tagged along.  I had a pumpkin coffee and water with lemon.  I ordered their veggie omelet (no cheese) and substituted the home fries and toast for a side of fruit and bacon.

11:30AM
Went grocery shopping (excited for my food this week – yeah!) and stopped at Dunks for a large black iced tea with extra lemon; yum!

4:00PM
Spent some time at the Peabody Museum today.  I was really excited to see the Ansel Adams exhibit (it was great).  Since we were in downtown Salem, MA we decided to grab a bite to eat.  I typically would want to go to Salem Beer Works to indulge not only in their amazing beer selection but also their amazing menu.  We ventured out to somewhere different and I had an amazing meal with a soda water.  I had a hanger steak with grilled vegetables and salsa verde.  It was amazing.  I had a small side of sweet potato fries.  It was flavorful and amazing.

Got home around 5:45PM and spent the next two hours in the kitchen cooking.  I made this amazing roasted eggplant dip for tomorrow.  I have the 5K race in the morning and then heading to my sister and Todd’s for the Patriots game so I’m excited for my dip (with veggies) and Todd’s homemade chicken wings 🙂

8:15PM
Dinner tonight reaffirmed my love with FOOD tonight.  IT WAS AMAZING.  I had a sweet potato casserole (tasted so good, tasted like dessert).  I then had sun-dried tomato chicken with artichokes and spinach.  A-M-A-Z-I-N-G.  I wasn’t super hungry (still full from our late lunch) but had enough to hold me over.

I’m super excited for food this week!!!

A few thoughts….
1. Today I wore a pair of jean capri’s that haven’t fit me since last year – THEY FIT!
I’ve noticed there is a lot less bloating in my abdomen and face (yeah!)
There was a picture taken of me at the gym the other day and I actually look like I’m in shape!!!
I will admit though, I miss having a drink.  I think its more a social thing and something I do when I am bored but I still miss it.

I’m excited to see how I do tomorrow at the race.  Interested to see if I beat my time from the 4th of July race (which I did my best time yet).  I’m icing my hip and then calling it a night.  I can’t believe tomorrow is day 22 (only 9 more days left)….

RECIPES

Appetizer

(Roasted Eggplant) – http://forum.whole9life.com/topic/2438-whole30-party-food-to-trump-the-competition/page__p__20464__hl__appetizer__fromsearch__1#entry20464

Dinner

(Chicken) – http://givingupgrains.typepad.com/giving-up-grains/2011/05/sun-dried-tomato-chicken-with-artichokes-and-spinach.html

(Sweet Potatoes) – http://recipewarrior.com/casserole/whole30-sweet-potato-casserole/

Leave a Reply

