Day 16

Slept great again last night.  Got about 7.5 hours of sleep.  I worked until 10:30PM and then went to bed (which is late for me) but knew I didn’t need to set my alarm (great feeling) so that I could get up early and finish my work project.  I was up at 615AM .

7:15AM
I had 3 eggs, then I switched up my veggies for the day and had some scallions, asparagus and mushrooms.  Had 2 pieces of bacon with some blackberries, raspberries and strawberries and my water. Don’t forget about my fish oil too.

I had to go to Staples today to get my project printed for work.  And I experienced something that I have either never experienced or at least don’t remember … I got whistled at (lol).  And it wasn’t by an old creepy guy; go figure!  Now, I don’t know anything about this guy, but for that minute or so – it made my feel good (and I blushed) so thank you random guy, much appreciated 🙂

12:45PM
Whoa!!!  Amazing Lunch, party of 1.  I conquered MAYO and man was it good 🙂  I made Waldorf Tuna Salad with Cumin Roasted Carrots (see recipes below, from Well Fed).  First, I don’t like cooked carrots, never have.  But roasted – now we’re talking!  The entire lunch was AMAZING!  I had my seltzer again to finish it off.  Man, oh man – if you like carrots and you like tuna, you need to make these.  They won’t disappoint.  

3:45PM
Was needing a snack today and since I was going to go for a run after work decided to add some fat to the snack.  I had a banana with some almond butter (not a lot) and it hit the spot 🙂

5:30PM
Have a 5K on Sunday so wanted to kick up my running this week.  Went for a 2.11 mile run (13:03 mile) and completed it in 27:35 minutes.  I felt very good with that.  Couldn’t have asked for better weather, it was 58* and sunny.

I got to skype tonight with my friend Mel in Florida.  She had a baby in May and I have only seen pictures of baby Emma so it was awesome to see them on the computer.

8:10PM
Wasn’t hungry when I was making dinner but the time it was done I was ready.  I made chicken thighs and spaghetti squash (spiced it up with cinnamon and garlic).  I had some cucumber slices on the side.  Was very good.

Today was a great day.  Slept great, felt happy today 🙂
On to day 17….

Waldorf Tuna Salad
1 small apple, diced (I didn’t dice it, instead I made slices and served it on top)
2-3 scallions, dark green tops only, thinly sliced (about 1/4 cup)
4 pecan halved, coarsely chopped (about 2 tablespoons) – again just paced the pecan on top instead of chopping
1 can of tuna
1/2 teaspoon mustard powder
3-4 tablespoons Olive Oil Mayo (I finally conquered this one, came out great.  See previous blogs for recipe)
salt and pepper to taste

Drain the liquid from the tuna and add the tuna to a bowl.  Mash with a fork to break it up until no big chunks remain.

Add the mustard and mayo to bowl and mix with rubber spatula until blended.  Try a bite, then add salt and pepper to adjust the seasonings.  If you can stand it, let the tuna salad sit for 15 minutes so flavors meld.

I then scooped it on the slices of apple and topped it with pecans.

Cumin-Roasted Carrots
1 pound fresh carrots (about 10)
1/2 tablespoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 1/2 tablespoons coconut oil
parsley for garnish

Preheat oven to 400*.  Cover a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

Wash and peel carrots, then cut them lengthwise into thin strips, about 1/4-inch wide.  Toss them into a large bowl.

With a fork, mix the cumin, cinnamon, salt and pepper in a small microwave safe bowl.  Add the coconut oil and microwave until melted, about 15-20 seconds.

Pour the seasoned coconut oil over the carrots and toss with two wooden spoons until the carrots are evenly coated.  Do a taste test and adjust the seasonings.

Spread the carrots in a single layer on the baking sheet and roast 15-20 minutes, until tender and slightly browned.  Remove from the oven and top with parsley.

Grilled Chicken Thighs
2 pounds, skinless chicken thighs
salt
ground black pepper
coarse (granulated) garlic powder
paprika

Preheat oven to 400*

Place the chicken on a large platter or baking sheet in a single layer, smooth side facing up.  Sprinkle generously with salt, pepper and garlic powder, then add just enough paprika for a little kick.  Flip the chicken and season other side.

Place the chicken smooth side up in large baking dish.  Bake 30-35 minutes until juices run clear and the tops are well browned.

Roasted Spaghetti Squash
1 large spaghetti squash
3 tablespoons water

Preheat oven to 375*.  Cover a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

Cut the squash in half lengthwise.  The easiest way to do this is, surprisingly, with a small knife.  Use a sharp paring knife to carefully create a shallow slit along the top of the squash, lengthwise.  Now, using a large knife, place the blade in the slit and bang the squash carefully with some force on the cutting board.  It should crack along the fault line created by the small knife.  Scoop out the seeds and pulp with a large spoon.

Place squash cut side down on the baking sheet.  Sprinkle the water onto the paper around the squash.  Roast until the squash is tender, but not mushy, 30-40 minutes.  Place the baking sheet on a cooling rack, and, using a hot mitt, turn the squash cut side up to cool.

When it’s cool enough to handle, scrape the inside with a fork to shred the squash into gorgeous spaghetti strands.

Leave a comment