Day 15

Slept great last night.  Got about 8 hours of sleep again.  6/630AM is the new wake up call for me.

7:15AM
I had a busy day scheduled today so I got up and made myself breakfast.  I had 3 eggs with 1 1/2 pieces of bacon and some blackberries, raspberries and strawberries before heading to the grocery store.

2:00PM
I was pretty hungry but wanted to wait for Football.  Todd made some amazing (per usual) spicy wings for the game (and they were spicy).  I had about 8 or so.  They were amazing.

Today was Patriots first game of the season (and they won!!).  I am typically having a couple of beers and snacking throughout the game so this was an interesting experience but I held strong.  I had brought seltzers with me and I drank 3 during the game.

5:00PM
Got home and was pretty hungry.  Needed to start making my food for the week so I had a shake to get me over the hump.  I started prepping my veggies for the week for my breakfasts, etc. and then dived into dinner.

Tonight (all from Well Fed again) I made Bora Bora Fireballs and Confetti Cauliflower Rice Pilaf (recipes below).  They hit the spot.  It was nice to have something a little “sweet” tonight as I feel like most of my meals last week had a spice kick to them.

I had to do some work tonight for a project due tomorrow (boo!) so I apologize for this post being late.

Off to bed … on to day 16!!!

Confetti Cauliflower Rice Pilaf
1 large head fresh cauliflower
1 tablespoon plus 1 tablespoon coconut oil
8 dried apricot halves, minced about 2 tablespoons
1 1/2 tablespoons raisins (I didn’t include this as I couldn’t find any unsweetened)
2 tablespoons of pine nuts
1/2 medium onion, diced (1/2 cup)
1 clove garlic, minced (about 1 teaspoon)
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
salt and pepper to taste

Break the cauliflower into florets, removing stems.  Place florets (might have to do two batches) in food processor.  Pulse, make sure not to make it into mush.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat, about 3 minutes.  Add 1 tablespoon of coconut oil and allow to melt.  Add the apricots, raisins, pine nuts, onion and garlic.  Stir with a wooden spoon to combine and cook the onions until translucent , about 5 minutes.

Push the onions to the side of the pan and add the remaining 1 tablespoon of coconut oil.  Add the cumin and cinnamon to the oil, then stir everything together.  When you can smell the spices, about 30 seconds toss in the riced cauliflower and saute until its tender, about 5 minutes.

Bora Bora Fireballs
1 1/2 cups of shredded unsweetened coconut
1/2 teaspoon plus 1/2 teaspoon of salt
3/2 teaspoon plus 1 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
1 can crushed pineapple, sugar free, packed in its own juice
2 tablespoons of coconut aminos
1 1/2 teaspoons of ground ginger
3 cloves garlic, minced
3-4 scallions, white and green, sliced very thinly
1/2 fresh jalapeno, seeds and ribs removed , finely minced
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 pounds of ground pork

Preheat oven to 375*.  Cover a large baking dish with parchment paper.  Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat, then add coconut.  Toast, stirring often with a wooden spoon, until golden brown, about 3 minutes.  Remove from heat, sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon salt 3/4 cayenne pepper and set aside.

Drain can of pineapple in a sieve placed over a bowl to catch juice.  You’re going to use this later.  Press pineapple pulp agains sieve with wooden spoon to extract the excess moisture.  Place 1 cup of drained pineapple in a large mixing bowl.

To the pineapple, add 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, coconut aminos, ginger, garlic, scallions, jalapeno, and eggs.  Beat with a wooden spoon until combined.  With your hands crumble pork into bowl and knead until all of the ingredients are incorporated.

Arrange the bowls of pineapple juice, spiced coconut and seasoned pork for easy access.  Measure a level tablespoon of pork to a meatball.  Lightly douse it in the pineapple juice and roll in the coconut, pressing the coconut shreds into the meat.

Slide the meatballs into the oven and bake 25-30 minutes until sizzling and golden brown.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

