Day 12

I slept great last night, 8 hours of sleep.  Had a slight headache when I woke up again this morning but nothing terrible.

7:45AM
Need to work on my breakfast next week, still loving the scramble but think I need to venture out into some different veggies.  Had 3 eggs again with veggies, 2 pieces of bacon and some cantaloupe with water.

8:15AM
Again, sat down to start my day with my typical black cup of coffee.

12:00PM
I felt really tired all of sudden so laid down for 20 minutes and I got my energy back 🙂

1:00PM
Last night when I was making dinner I came across a recipe in Well Fed that I had folded down and remembered I had bought all the ingredients to make it but had forgotten all about it so I made it today for lunch.  Today’s lunch was very FLAVORFUL.  My plate was full of 3 totally different flavors and my taste buds went into overload, but I loved every bite of it.  I ate the last of my cajun shrimp, my 1/2 of the chicken I didn’t finish the other night and had some “greek broccoli” (recipe at end).  Had my seltzer again, can’t get enough of those 🙂

2:15PM
I was in the mood for something.  I wasn’t having a craving but jsut needed something.  When I went into my kitchen I saw my Rooibos tea which I had bought at the farmers market but hadn’t had yet so I made myself a cup of Red Rooibos Tea 🙂

5:45PM
On my way to CrossFit I had 1 hard boiled egg (I brought 2 but one was slimy so I couldn’t do it) and 1/2 of an avocado with a water.

6:30PM
I got a PR today on deadlifts ~ 175lbs 🙂

Today’s WOD was:
4 Rounds for Time:
25 Wallball (i did 10 lbs)
7 Deadlifts (I did 135 lbs)
Run (around the building)
My time was: 16:46 (it kicked my butt tonight, it was also hot and humid)

7:30PM
Had my SFH Recovery shake and headed home; exhausted.

9:00PM
Got home and chatted with my roomie so starting dinner was later than I expected.  I actually wasn’t that hungry but forced myself to eat.  Had 2 spinach/meat muffins and some leftover squash.  The squash is so amazing and the muffins were good reheated, felt spicier today but managed to finish them.

Overall today was a great day.  I’m feeling like my head is clearer and I am starting to feel lighter 🙂

On to day 13 🙂

Greek Broccoli
1/2 cup of water
1 pound of fresh broccoli, broken into florets
1 tablespoons EVOO
1 medium onion, diced (about 1 cup)
3 cloves garlic, minced (about 1 tablespoon)
1 cup fresh grape or cherry tomatoes
1/2 cup fresh parsley leaves, minced (about 2 tablespoons)
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1/2 teaspoon paprika
salt and pepper, to taste

IN a large saute pan, bring the water to a boil over high heat.  Add the broccoli, cover with a tight-fitting lid and steam the broccoli until tender, about 4-5 minutes.  Drain the broccoli in a collander and rinse with cold water to stop the cooking process.

Dry the pan and heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the onion, garlic, tomatoes, parsley, and oregano.  Saute until the onions are translucent and the tomatoes begin to pop.  Add the broccoli, tomato paste, paprika, salt and pepper, stir well to combine.  Simmer uncovered 5-7 minutes until heated through.  Taste and adjust seasonings.

One thought on “Day 12

Leave a Reply

