Day 11

I slept great last night, 9 hours of sleep.  I love waking up before my alarm goes off, makes getting up a lot easier I feel.  I typically set my alarm 30 minutes before I actually have to get up so I have time to read emails, check the weather, read the top news and get caught up on Facebook.  Its been raining the past few mornings and typically the thought of laying in bed all day sounds so appealing in this weather but I love being able to get out of bed without a problem.

7:45AM
Decided this morning I needed to kick up my protein so I had 3 eggs this morning instead of my typical 2 with veggies.  I had 2 pieces of bacon and a few pieces of cantaloupe as well.  I ate it all and was very content when I finished.  I drank a whole cup of water again, I’ve been noticing that I am a lot more thirsty than normal, which is weird since I drink a lot of water typically throughout the day but I would guess I’ve almost doubled my intake (can’t be bad right?)

8:15AM
Since I’ve been getting up without a problem, I’ve been starting my work day earlier.  I sat down to start my day with my typical black cup of coffee (today’s flavor was Blueberry, yum).

12:30PM
Leftovers from yesterday.  Some garlic, curry shrimp with a side of fresh peppers and an apple.  Shrimp was still as good as it was yesterday, actually felt like it had more of a kick today from sitting in the juices overnight.  Had a seltzer with lunch and felt full after I ate.

I went to the Chiropractor today.  I haven been going regularly since April when I pinched a nerve in my neck/shoulder.  I recently aggravated my right hip so have been going weekly for an adjustment.

I finished my day of work and decided to vacuum and steam all of the floors – they needed it.  I then made way to the kitchen around 6:30PM to start dinner.  I was excited for tonight’s meal except once I looked at both recipes I realized there was a lot of work ahead of me and I wouldn’t be eating until after 8PM.  But the hard work and wait all paid off.

8:30PM
Tonight I made (again all from Well Fed) Velvety Butternut Squash and Meat and Spinach Muffins.  Very flavorful and delicious.

Overall today was a great day.  On to day 12 🙂

Recipes from tonight…

Meat and Spinach Muffins
3 16 oz. bags frozen chopped spinach, defrosted (i only used 1)
1/2 tablespoon coconut oil
1/2 medium onion, diced (about 1/2 cup)
1 1/2 pounds ground beed (i only used 1 pound)
2 cloves garlic, minced (about 2 teaspoons)
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
3 large eggs

Preheat oven to 375*

Squeeze all the excess water from the defrosted spinach.
Heat a large skillet for about 3 minutes.  Add coconut oil and allow it to melt.
Toss the onion in the pan and saute, stirring with a wooden spoon until its crisp-tender and translucent, about 5 minutes.
Crumble the meat into the pan, breaking up lumps with the wooden spoon.  Add the garlic, salt, black pepper and cayenne pepper.  Cook until the meat is browned. Stir in the spinach until its combined.  Set aside to cool for about 15 minutes.
Scramble the eggs in a small bowl with a fork, and when the meat is cool add them to the meat; blend well.  The easiest way to combine everything is with your hands.  Dig in!
Place muffin papers in 12-count muffin pan; they will help prevent sticking.  Use your hands to pack the spinach tightly into the muffin paper.  It should be slightly mounded on top.  Bake for 40 minutes until the tops are lightly browned.  Remove the muffins from the pan, cool and store in the fridge.

Velvety Butternut Squash
2 1/2 pounds butternut squash (i didn’t measure, but i am surly to use more next time)
2 tablespoons water
1 head of garlic
1 tablespoon coconut oil
2 tablespoons coconut milk
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons Ras el Hanout (i didn’t make this but rather took the ingredients from the recipe in the cook book and just added dashes of it to the mix)
1 large egg
1/4 cup pecan halves, chopped

Preheat oven to 350*

Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Cut the squash in half lengthwise and remove the seeds.  Place cut-side down on the baking sheet and sprinkle 2 tablespoons of water onto the paper around the squash.
Peel the loose, papery skin off the garlic, and wrap it in a piece of aluminum foil.  Put the baking sheet of squash and the foil packet in the oven.  Bake for 40-50 minutes, until the squash is tender.  Set both aside until they’re cool enough to handle, about 20 minutes.

Increase the oven temperature to 400*

When the squash is cool, use a spoon to scoop the flesh into the bowl of a food processor.  Separate the garlic cloves and squeeze the roasted pulp into the bowl with the squash.  Process the mixture to a smooth puree, then add the coconut oil, coconut milk, salt and Ras el Hanout.  Taste and adjust seasonings.
Beat the egg in a small bowl.  Scrape the puree into a large mixing bowl and stir in the beaten egg with a wooden spoon until combined.
Grease the inside of a 3-cup casserole dish or individual ramekins with a little coconut oil, then add the squash puree.  Top with chopped pecans and bake in the 400* oven for 25-30 minutes, until the edges are a little bubbly and the top is golden brown.

One thought on “Day 11

Leave a Reply

