Day 9

I slept okay last night.  My muscles were tight so I tossed and turned a lot.  I was awake at 6:40AM and since I had a lot to do on this extra day off I hopped out of bed to start my day.  I did wake up craving chocolate chip pancakes and a blueberry muffin for some reason.

8:15AM
Didn’t have much for breakfast in the fridge (and I wasn’t too hungry) so I made myself a SFH balance shake and a black coffee and headed to the grocery store.

9:30AM
While running out the door to do the rest of my errands I grabbed a seltzer and jumped in the car.

12:15PM
When I got home I was pretty hungry.  I made myself a field green salad with edible flowers (from Lull Farm), added a heirloom tomatoe and some diced chicken I had in the fridge I dressed it with a champagne, garlic, shallot dressing I also got at the Farm (no sugar).

3:00PM
I was feeling really exhausted and still hungry (probably because I skipped an actual breakfast this morning) so I had a 1/2 spoonful of almond butter (yum!) and a handful of strawberries, raspberries and blackberries and a hard boiled egg.

3:30PM – couldn’t get out of my slump, so set my timer and took a 20 minute nap.  It was hard for me to wake up but it made me feel so much better!

6:30PM
I can’t even stress enough how AMAZING my dinner was tonight.  I got all of the recipes from Well Fed (by Melissa Joulwan).  All the recipes in this cookbook are 99% Whole30 (there is just one dessert that isn’t).  I wanted to really spice up my food this week since I got bored last week so tonights meal was all about FLAVOR!  I made roasted brussel sprouts (400* for 40 minutes) and tossed them with EVOO, salt & pepper and garlic garlic (from tastefully simple).  I then made Mashed Cauliflower (this is a MUST) – was wicked easy and so tasty.  And then accompanied it with The Best Chicken You Will Ever Eat and Moroccan Dipping Sauce.  YUM YUM YUM 🙂

Overall a great day … on to day 10 🙂

Here are the recipes (from Well Fed)

Mashed Cauliflower
1 bag (16 oz.) frozen cauliflower florets
1 garlic clove, crushed (about 1 teaspoon)
1 1/2 tablespoons coconut oil
1/2 cup coconut milk
salt and pepper, to taste
1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons dried chopped chives

Cook cauliflower according to package, until its very soft (but not waterlogged).  Drain the water from the cauliflower and place the florets in the food processor.

In a microwave-safe bowl; heat garlic, coconut oil, coconut milk, salt & pepper; about 1 minute.

Puree the cauliflower in the bowl of a food processor, scraping down the sides.  Add the coconut milk to the processor, along with 1 tablespoon of chives.  Process about 10 seconds.  Taste and adjust seasonings.  Sprinkle with remaining chives before serving.

The Best Chicken You Will Ever Eat
Brining:
2 garlic cloves, whole
8 cups of water
3 tablespoons of salt
1/2 tablespoon coconut aminos
1 bay leaf
1 teaspoon whole coriander seeds
1 teaspoon whole cumin seeds
1 teaspoon whole black peppercorns
2-3 lbs. bonless, skinless chicken breasts

Spice Blend:
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 tablespoon chili powder
1/2 tablespoon ground allspice
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 tablespoon ground black pepper
2 tablespoons coconut oil

BRINING:
Place garlic cloves on a cutting board and place the flat side of a knife on top of them.  With your fist, lightly strike the knife to crack the cloves, then remove and discard the peel.
Place a 1-gallon zipper storage bag inside a large bowl so it’s standing up.  Pour the water into the bag, then add the garlic, salt, coconut aminos, bay leaf, coriander seeds, cumin seeds and peppercorns.  Stir with your hand to dissolve the salt, then add the chicken to the bag.  Seal the bag and place in refrigerator for 2 hours.
(You can stop here and grill another day, it will stay for 2-3 days in fridge)
After 2 hours – rinse chicken well, and set it in a collander to dry while you move onto the spice blend.

SPICE BLEND:
Preheat Grill (or oven at 400*)
Place all the Spice Blend ingredients except the coconut oil in a small bowl and mix with a fork.  Put the coconut oil in a microwave-safe dish and heat until melted, about 15 seconds.  Pour the melted oil into the spice blend and combine with a fork.
Coat the chicken pieces with the mixture (use your hands).
Place the chicken smooth side down and cook for 4 minutes (or cook in oven for 20 minutes).  Flip the chicken, cook for an additional 3-4 minutes until it is browned and cooked through.

Moroccan Dipping Sauce
juice of 2 lemons (about 1/4 cup)
1 clove garlic, minces (about 1 teaspoon)
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon paprika
pinch of ground cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/3 cup EVOO
1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves, minced (about 2 tablespoons)
1/2 cup fresh parsley leaves, minced (about 2 tablespoons)

In a small bowl, whisk together the lemon juice, garlic, cumin, paprika, cayenne and salt & pepper.
Gradually whisk in the oil, then stir in the fresh cilantro and parsley.

One thought on “Day 9

  1. Tried the Moroccan Chicken tonight and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe. I’ll have to try the mashed cauliflower with coconut milk another night. I love mashed cauliflower but never tried it with coconut milk. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

