Day 2

I slept good last night, I was exhausted but had a hard time waking up.  I did get about 8.5 hours of sleep.  I woke up to no cable or internet and since I work from home I was going to have to find an alternative work station for my day (thanks Starbucks!).

Egg Scramble with Bacon

7:30AM
Started my morning off with an awesome egg scramble (inspired by my sisters yesterday).  I had 2 farm fresh eggs with some of my left over egg whites and then I scrambled it up with some broccoli, tomatoes, onions and mushrooms that I cut up yesterday and threw in some frozen spinach as well.  I also cooked up 2 pieces of nitrate-free organic bacon.  I was very thirsty this morning so I guzzled down a big cup of water with breakfast.
Since my internet was scheduled to be out all day I headed to Starbucks to get to work.  I ordered a venti pike place roast black coffee.  It was some good will power to not order my typical “very berry coffee cake” that I always get when I go to Starbucks but since my breakfast was so filling it was very easy to walk right by.

Venti Pike’s Peak black coffee

I felt great all morning.  I typically have a snack around 10/10:30AM (usually a shake with greek yogurt, frozen berries and coconut milk) but skipping it today was easy.  Around 11AM I was feeling a little hungry but nothing crazy so decided to push through and wait until lunch time.

Since Starbucks doesn’t offer much nutritious-friendly meals and since I had so much great food at home I headed back home to make my lunch.

Chicken Salad (homemade mayo) with fresh heirloom tomatoes, cucumbers and a hard boiled egg.

12:30PM
I made myself a small chicken salad with the chicken I made yesterday and the home-made mayo.  Definitely not Hellman’s Mayo and a tad bitter but wasn’t horrible.  I accompanied that with a fresh tomato from Lull Farm, a few cucumber slices (i LOVE cucumbers!) and a hard boiled egg.  I had a seltzer to drink as well.  I had a little headache when I sat down to eat but think it was because at this point I was super hungry.  I ate nice and slow (which I very rarely do) but when I felt full I took a break and waited a few minutes before finishing my plate.

I had a headache for most of the afternoon and was feeling sluggish (or as they say in the book “hungover”).  My energy got really low after lunch (around 1:30PM) and I had the sudden urge to take a nap; so I did.  After the nap (about 18 minutes) I felt worse and it felt as though my blood sugar was extremely low so around 2:30PM I had a handful of raspberries and strawberries and around 3PM I felt much better 🙂

At 5:30PM I headed up to my sisters.  Since I wasn’t sure how long I would be there or when I would eat again I decided to stop at her local Hannaford’s and get a bowl of assorted fruit.  Note to self: need to prepare better and pack snacks!  I got to my sisters house and had the bowl of fruit, a handful of nuts and a seltzer around 6:30PM.  I ended up heading out around 9PM and since I knew I would get home late I had a hard boiled egg she made and headed home.  When I got home I was so tired I went straight to bed with no dinner.

Overall I think Day 2 was a little hard.  I think a lot of it had to do with my daily routine being thrown off with no internet and then getting home late but I am proud of myself with sticking with it when it would have been easier to just cave in to my natural tendencies.

Now on to Day 3….

One thought on “Day 2

Leave a Reply

